Mustang Athletics

The Value of Athletics

The Importance of Organized Team Sports for Youth

Participating in youth athletics can teach values and lessons that student-athletes can use in their teenage years and throughout their life.   Coaches, teachers, and parents are key influencers when it comes to  providing mentorship and building positive character through sports.  An effective and positive athletic program should build life-long lessons and skills for our student-athletes, including:
  • Discipline
  • Hard Work
  • Sacrifice
  • Teamwork
  • Dealing with Success and Failure
  • Setting and Striving for Goals
  • Value of Practice and Preparation.
  • Overcoming Adversity

At Kinard, we strive to win without making it our primary focus.  The athletic program complements the academic program by emphasizing the importance of work ethic, sportsmanship, and competing with character.  We define success according to the legendary Coach John Wooden

"Success is peace of mind, which is a direct result of self-satisfaction in knowing you made the effort to do your best to become the best that you are capable of becoming."  

Most importantly, we expect our athletes and parents to represent our Kinard Community with character and class in an effort to live up to the legacy of our school's namesake, Hal Kinard.  

Quick Links & Resources

Fall Sports

Cross Country

6th | 7th | 8th
GIRLS: Sched. | Results
BOYS: Sched. | Results

Football

BOYS
7th: Sched. | Results
8th: Sched. | Results

Tennis

7th | 8th
GIRLS: Sched. | Results
BOYS: Sched. | Results

Volleyball

GIRLS
7th: Sched. | Results
8th: Sched. | Results

Winter Sports

Girls Basketball

Girls
7th: Sched. | Results
8th: Sched. | Results

Boys Basketball

Boys
7th: Sched. | Results
8th: Sched. | Results

Wrestling

7th | 8th Sched. 
7th | 8th:  Results

Spring Sports
                     

                

Golf

6th | 7th | 8th
GIRLS: Sched. | TBD
BOYS: Sched. | TBD

Softball

7th | 8th
VARSITY: Sched. | Results
JR. VAR: Sched. | Results

Track & Field

6th | 7th | 8th
GIRLS: Sched. | TBD
BOYS: Sched. | TBD

Athletic Directory

Main Office Staff Name Email Phone
Athletic Director Chris Bergmann cbergman@psdschools.org (970)488-5415
Athletic Secretary Chris Hyatt christih@psdschools.org (970)488-5406

Sport Head Coach Phone Email Season Dates
Cross Country Katitlyn Hanson (970)488-5461 khanson@psdschools.org  8/22/16 - 10/8/16
Football - 7th Grade Andy Crosby (970) 488-8181 acrosby@psdschools.org 8/22/16 - 10/22/16
Football - 8th Grade Cory Ticnor (970) 692-7156 cticnor@psdschools.org

8/22/16 - 10/22/16

Tennis Alan Foss (719) 510-4634 afoss18@msn.com  8/22/16 - 10/6/16
Volleyball - 7th Grade Karyn Choromanski (203) 260-4014 kchoromanski@psdschools.org  8/22/16 - 10/15/16
Volleyball - 8th Grade Courtney Zimmerman (303) 946-7317 czimmerman_95@ymail.com 8/22/16 - 10/15/16
Boys Basketball - 7th Grade Rob Lewis (303) 246-5316 rlewis@psdschools.org 10/24/2016 - 12/18/2016
Boys Basketball - 8th Grade Todd Matkin  (970) 658-7644 tmatkin@psdschools.org 10/24/2016 - 12/15/2016
Girls Basketball - 7th Grade Jake Guzman (970) 219-5394

jguzman@psdschools.org

1/10/2017 - 3/9/2017
Girls Basketball - 8th Grade Brad Lardner (970)488-5457 blardner@psdschools.org 1/10/2017 - 3/9/2017
Wrestling Dave Schlehuber (970) 488-6408 dschlehu@psdschools.org 1/17/2017 - 3/4/2017
Boys Golf Brad Blank (970) 488-5454 bblank@psdschools.org 3/20/2017 - 5/12/2017
Girls Golf Brad Lardner (970)488-5457 blardner@psdschools.org  3/20/2017 - 5/12/2017
Softball Kelly Karshner (904)673-0101

kkarshner9@gmail.com

3/6/2017 - 4/22/2017
Track & Field Jacob Benson (970) 488-5446 jbenson@psdschools.org 4/10/2017 - 5/17/2017
PSD Athletic Trainer Chad Smidt (970) 227-0763