Clubs

At Kinard, students have the opportunity to get involved with many different extracurricular clubs and activities. These programs provide students an outlet to gain new skills, connect with friends, have fun, and solidify a sense of belonging to Kinard. Historically, over 500 students participate in Kinard clubs and activities each year.

School Sponsored Activities


Fitness Club

Mondays and Wednesdays, 3:15-4:00 p.m., Weight Room 610; starts 9/13/2021 through 5/5/2022
Chase Rollings   488-5489    crollings@psdschools.org

Students in Fitness Club can enjoy working out and supporting their physical wellness in a fun, safe, and collaborative setting.​


Lego Robotics

Every day, 3:30-5:00 p.m., Room 510; starts 8/30/2021 through 12/17/2021
Tim McGonagil    488-5467    jmcgonagil@psdschools.org

In Lego Robotics, students learn to understand the basics of STEM and apply their skills in an exciting competition while building habits of teamwork, collaboration, and critical thinking.


MathCounts

Tuesdays, 3:15-4:15 p.m., Media Center; starts 9/14/2021 through 3/8/2022
Cecilia Bonertz    488-5407    cbonertz@psdschools.org

In Math Counts, students focus on math skills through a competition-based program.


National Junior Honor Society (NJHS)

Fridays (every other), 7:30-8:00 a.m., Media Center; starts 9/24/2021 through 5/20/2022

Mandy Hergenreder    488-5463    mhergenreder@psdschools.org

Leanne Griffey    488-5483    lgriffey@psdschools.org        

In NJHS, students focus their leadership skills on planning and implementing community service projects for non-profits around the world.  Membership by application only. New members can apply each year in January.


Science Fair Club

Thursdays, 3:15-4:00 p.m., Room 315; starts 9/16/2021 through 2/24/2022
Katie Ashe    488-5459    kashe@psdschools.org

In Science Fair Club, students practice the scientific method and design and implement their own experiments.


Science Olympiad

Every day, 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., Room 510; starts 10/11/2021 through 5/1/2022

Tim McGonagil    488-5467    jmcgonagil@psdschools.org 

Alicia Williams    488-5455    awilliams@psdschools.org                                                                                                                   

Students in Science O participate in one of the premiere science competitions in the nation. Students can choose from 23 different events that make up the Science O challenges.                                                                                                                                 


Theatre Club

Mondays, 3:15-4:15 p.m., Media Center; starts 9/13/2021 through 5/9/2022

Eric Fischer    402-7767    efischer@psdschools.org

Beth Bean    488-5420    ebean@psdschools.org

Theater Club explores improvisation skills culminating in the "Madrigal Dinner" performance.  Second semester will continue improvisation skills ending the year with "Improv Night."


Yearbook

ELO, 2:30-3:10 p.m., Room 417; 8/17/21 through 5/25/22
Emily Terry    488-5457    eterry@psdschools.org 

In Yearbook ELO, students create page layouts for our nationally-recognized, award winning yearbook. Staff members (including 6th, 7th, and 8th graders) take pictures to fill pages, write captions, and learn journalism standards.  This is a year-long program.

Submit your pictures to replayit.com, register, and choose Kinard Middle School.

                                        

 

Student Initiated and Led Organizations


FCT/FCA (Fellowship of Christian Teens/Athletes)

Fridays, 7:30-8:00 a.m., Rm 300, starts 9/10/2021 through 5/20/2022
Leslie Husted    488-5417    lhusted@psdschools.org

FCT/FCA gives athletes and other Kinard students an opportunity to gather for team-building and to talk and encourage each other in discussions about their faith.


Fly Tying Club

Tuesdays, 3:15-4:15 p.m., Rm 414, starts 9/21/2021 through 5/17/2022
Bradford Lardner    488-5472    blardner@psdschools.org

Fly tying club helps students learn fine motor skills and provides an opportunity to discuss fishing and learning about the outdoors.


Quilling Club

Mondays, 3:15-4:00 pm, Rm 311, starts 10/11/2021 through 5/9/2022

Andy Graham    488-5468    agraham@psdschools.org

Quilling club brings together students who love to quill and learn new crafts.


The Magic Act

Mondays, 3:20-4:20 pm, Rm 416, starts 10/11/2021 - 5/9/2022

Sarah Bales     488-5481    sbales@psdschools.org

Students in the Magic Act Club can play or create card games, board games, and learn new magic tricks.